New Associate of (ISC) Programs For CSSLP And CAP Help Aspiring Professionals Prepare For Careers In Cyber Security

Program expansion part of push to fill the pipeline of qualified cybersecurity professionals

January 13, 2012

4 Min Read


Palm Harbor, Fla., U.S.A., January 12, 2012 – (ISC)' (“ISC-squared”), the world’s largest information security professional body and administrators of the CISSP', today announced the expansion of the Associate of (ISC) program to include the Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP') and Certified Authorization Professional (CAP') credentials. Already available for the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP') and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP') credentials, the Associate of (ISC) program allows aspiring information security professionals to sit for a credential exam to assess their knowledge and build their professional network while they’re gaining the work experience required to become certified.

Upon passing either the CISSP, CSSLP, CAP or SSCP exams, which test a candidate’s understanding of the applicable CBK•, (ISC)'s taxonomy of global information security topics, the Associate of (ISC) will gain access to an elite peer network and career development resources offered exclusively to (ISC) members. Additionally, Associates of (ISC) gain access to the same benefits as (ISC)2’s certified members, including a suite of career development and support programs, such as a job search site, career clinics, virtual communities, networking events and continuing education opportunities.

Associates must subscribe to and abide by the (ISC) Code of Ethics, earn continuing education credits annually and pay annual membership fees. To become certified, Associates of (ISC)2 must gain the requisite work experience for the credential they are pursuing within five years for CSSLP and within three years for CAP and be endorsed by an (ISC)-certified professional in good standing.

While open to all interested candidates, the Associate program is also a resource for universities looking to support graduates’ transition into professional life and maps to the Workforce Framework being established by US Government National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) Initiative. “We welcome (ISC)2’s commitment to the advancement of the professionalization of the cybersecurity workforce,” says NICE National Lead, Dr. Ernest McDuffie. “Our Cybersecurity Workforce Framework document lays a foundation for the various competences that comprise cybersecurity and provides certification companies and academic institutions a common starting point to map course work and certifications to a recognized set of cybersecurity skills. We appreciate the support that (ISC)2 and the certification community has demonstrated in terms of open dialog and several ongoing efforts where certifications and courses are being mapped to the NICE Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.”

“The Associate program is a great way for those early in their careers to assess their knowledge and certification readiness and to show employers they are committed to practicing the highest standards and ethics in the field,” said W. Hord Tipton, CISSP-ISSEP, CAP, executive director of (ISC). “Given the government’s current shortage of information security professionals, we are pleased to offer the Associate program to help increase the number of skilled professionals that our cyber threat landscape requires. This program furthers (ISC)'s commitment to serving the needs of information security professionals at any age and/or stage of their careers as they travel along their career paths.”

The CSSLP, designed for professionals involved in the software lifecycle, requires four years of professional experience in the software development lifecycle (SDLC) in one or more of the seven domains of the (ISC) CSSLP CBK, while the CAP, designed for professionals responsible for formalizing processes used to assess risk and establishing security requirements and documentation, requires two years of work experience in one or more of the seven domains of the (ISC) CAP CBK.

The CSSLP and CAP exams are available to candidates worldwide. For more information on the Associate program, please visit

About (ISC)2
(ISC) is the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information security professionals worldwide, with over 80,000 members in more than 135 countries. Globally recognized as the Gold Standard, (ISC) issues the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP•) and related concentrations, as well as the Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP•), Certified Authorization Professional (CAP•), and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP•) credentials to qualifying candidates. (ISC)’s certifications are among the first information technology credentials to meet the stringent requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024, a global benchmark for assessing and certifying personnel. (ISC) also offers education programs and services based on its CBK', a compendium of information security topics. More information is available at

Keep up with the latest cybersecurity threats, newly discovered vulnerabilities, data breach information, and emerging trends. Delivered daily or weekly right to your email inbox.

You May Also Like

More Insights