New Colorado Breach Notification Rules Signed Into Law

Colorado has enacted a new data breach notification law that contains some of the most stringent requirements in the US.



If your company has customers in Colorado, get ready to revamp your policies notifying victims of a data breach. Last week, Gov. John Hickenlooper signed into law requirements for notification that are the most stringent in the nation.

Under the new law, if an individual's personal information is part of a breach, he must be notified within 30 days after discovery — no exceptions. In addition, the law, passed with bipartisan support, broadens the definition of personally identifying information to including health care and financial data.

The new notification requirement will have a special impact on organizations that must notify individuals of a HIPAA breach because it takes precedence over the federal 60-day notification window.

Notification requirements include telling affected individuals which data was released and the estimated data of the breach.

For more, read here and here.

 

Top industry experts will offer a range of information and insight on who the bad guys are – and why they might be targeting your enterprise. Click for more information

Dark Reading's Quick Hits delivers a brief synopsis and summary of the significance of breaking news events. For more information from the original source of the news item, please follow the link provided in this article. View Full Bio

Comment  | 
Email This  | 
Print  | 
RSS
More Insights
Copyright © 2019 UBM Electronics, A UBM company, All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service