06:24 PM
Connect Directly

Google Chrome OS CR-48 Notebook Reviewed

Google's Chrome OS preview netbook is beautiful and full of promise, but the company's vision for the cloud isn't enough.

Google Chrome OS Promises Computing Without Pain
(click image for larger view)
Slideshow: Google Chrome OS Promises Computing Without Pain

Google's Cr-48 Chrome OS netbook provides the first glimpse of a "third choice in desktop operating systems," as Google CEO Eric Schmidt puts it. It's all the things Google boasts: speedy, simple, and secure. But there are things it cannot do, only some of which won't matter in time.

Chrome OS is not really a third choice because it's not a desktop operating system. It doesn't support direct file manipulation. It's a browser-based operating system, and comparing Chrome OS to a desktop operating system like Windows or Mac OS is a bit like comparing a motorcycle to a pickup truck. Both work as transportation but if you're hauling drywall, you're not going to want a motorcycle.

Chrome OS will be succeed because, for many circumstances, the Web is enough and the price point will be compelling.

It's appealing because it's not a hassle. I never have to worry about updating Chrome OS. That happens automatically, without the interruption of dialog boxes. It took me less than a minute to start up, establish an account, take my own picture, connect to my WiFi network, and load my iGoogle homepage. All my Google Docs files were there waiting for me, in the cloud. All my bookmarks were there, thanks to Chrome's synchronization capabilities.

With a traditional laptop, transferring files and loading applications takes a lot more time.

1 of 3
Comment  | 
Print  | 
More Insights
Newest First  |  Oldest First  |  Threaded View
Who Does What in Cybersecurity at the C-Level
Steve Zurier, Freelance Writer,  3/16/2018
New 'Mac-A-Mal' Tool Automates Mac Malware Hunting & Analysis
Kelly Jackson Higgins, Executive Editor at Dark Reading,  3/14/2018
IoT Product Safety: If It Appears Too Good to Be True, It Probably Is
Pat Osborne, Principal - Executive Consultant at Outhaul Consulting, LLC, & Cybersecurity Advisor for the Security Innovation Center,  3/12/2018
Register for Dark Reading Newsletters
White Papers
Current Issue
How to Cope with the IT Security Skills Shortage
Most enterprises don't have all the in-house skills they need to meet the rising threat from online attackers. Here are some tips on ways to beat the shortage.
Flash Poll
[Strategic Security Report] Navigating the Threat Intelligence Maze
[Strategic Security Report] Navigating the Threat Intelligence Maze
Most enterprises are using threat intel services, but many are still figuring out how to use the data they're collecting. In this Dark Reading survey we give you a look at what they're doing today - and where they hope to go.
Twitter Feed
Dark Reading - Bug Report
Bug Report
Enterprise Vulnerabilities
From DHS/US-CERT's National Vulnerability Database
Published: 2017-05-09
NScript in mpengine in Microsoft Malware Protection Engine with Engine Version before 1.1.13704.0, as used in Windows Defender and other products, allows remote attackers to execute arbitrary code or cause a denial of service (type confusion and application crash) via crafted JavaScript code within ...

Published: 2017-05-08
unixsocket.c in lxterminal through 0.3.0 insecurely uses /tmp for a socket file, allowing a local user to cause a denial of service (preventing terminal launch), or possibly have other impact (bypassing terminal access control).

Published: 2017-05-08
A privilege escalation vulnerability in Brocade Fibre Channel SAN products running Brocade Fabric OS (FOS) releases earlier than v7.4.1d and v8.0.1b could allow an authenticated attacker to elevate the privileges of user accounts accessing the system via command line interface. With affected version...

Published: 2017-05-08
Improper checks for unusual or exceptional conditions in Brocade NetIron 05.8.00 and later releases up to and including 06.1.00, when the Management Module is continuously scanned on port 22, may allow attackers to cause a denial of service (crash and reload) of the management module.

Published: 2017-05-08
Nextcloud Server before 11.0.3 is vulnerable to an inadequate escaping leading to a XSS vulnerability in the search module. To be exploitable a user has to write or paste malicious content into the search dialogue.